Skip to content

UH Hilo Energy Savings and Sustainability Committee

Sub-Committee of Long Range Budget Planning Committee


This committee provides:

  1. broad input to the Long Range Budget Planning Committee regarding ways to save on energy costs and have more sustainable practices on the UH Hilo campus,
  2. strategies for obtaining additional resources for energy savings and sustainability programs,
  3. long range strategic planning for energy savings and sustainability, and;
  4. suggestions for methods of communicating to the campus regarding energy conservation methods and sustainability program.  

The committee members assist the Vice Chancellor of Administrative Affairs in gathering data and communicating information regarding current electricity costs, energy program, and need to decrease consumption and improve our campus energy habits. The impacts of a program plan for energy savings and sustainability will be to make recommendation on policy and procedures related to the UH Hilo campus with a goal of achieving savings in energy costs and change the current philosophy of how the campus current operates in regard to energy usage and areas that impact it.  

Members of this committee shall be required to:

  1. maintain a university wide viewpoint,
  2. be willing to look at strategies for developing more efficiencies,
  3. be collegial in their discussions, and;
  4. have both a short and long range perspective to the issues.

The purpose and responsibilities of the UH Hilo Sustainabililty Subcommittee of the LRBPC was adopted on October 17, 2008.

Sustainability Tips of the Week


Special Events and Activities!

Sustainability News!

Other Resources - Web Links and Documents


  • Cam Muir, Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, Chair
  • Norman Arancon, Assistant Professor, College of Agriculture, Forestry and Natural Resource Management
  • Dawna Coutant, Associate Professor, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Jeffrey Davis, Assistant Professor, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Kolin Kettleson, Director of Auxiliary Services
  • Richard Francis, UH Hilo Student Association Sustainability Committee
  • Marcia Sakai, Vice Chancellor for Administrative Affairs, ex officio

Archived Meeting Minutes